The following illustration shows the four tiers of the network architecture in the Microsoft Dynamics NAV Web client.

NAV Web Client network architecture

The following table describes the components of each tier.

Tier Description


A computer or device that has access to the Internet with a browser. For a list of supported browsers, see System Requirements for Microsoft Dynamics NAV 2013 R2.

Web server

A computer that is running Internet Information Services (IIS) at a minimum. Microsoft Dynamics NAV Web Server components are installed on a website on IIS. For more information, see How to: Install the Web Server Components for the Microsoft Dynamics NAV Web Client.

Microsoft Dynamics NAV Server

A Microsoft .NET Framework-based Windows Service that manages communications and provides a security layer between clients and Microsoft Dynamics NAV databases in SQL Server. For more information, see Microsoft Dynamics NAV Server.


A SQL Server database that contains Microsoft Dynamics NAV data. For more information, see SQL Server Database Components.